Our Curriculum

At the Acorn Federation we believe that it is important to provide our children with a broad, balanced and exciting curriculum.


Our Garden Class (Reception, Year 1 and Year 2) follow a three year cycle of topics. Our Meadow Class (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6) follow a four year cycle of topics.


We use the National Curriculum as the starting point of our 'Acorn Federation Curriculm'.  Curriculum leads have developed Skills Grids which detail the skills each year group will develop.  Teachers have developed knowledge grids which are used to support termly assessments of pupils.  These are differentiated into Silver (the expected standard) and Gold (exceeding the expected standard).  Those pupils who do not achieve Silver are assessed to be working towards.


Meadow Class
Cycle A - 2018 to 2019
Cycle B - 2019 to 2020
Cycle C - 2020 to 2021
Cycle D - 2021 to 2022